Steve Rawlings

Steve Rawlings

Steve is our champion of local music on Erewash Sound, presenting GEMS  (Great Erewash Music Show) every Saturday evening from 6pm. He can also be heard on Monday evenings presenting the Alternative 80s show.

From its early roots on the original internet service, Steve  picked up the GEMS show for FM from March 2010 to make the show even bigger and better and give more opportunities to local artists to get their material aired on the radio.

GEMS features nothing but material from artists in and around the Erewash area. Through the show, Steve was one of the first radio presenters to ever give airplay to local artists such as Jake Bugg and Philip George, long before they took the charts by storm.

Want to get your material played?  Send us your CDs and biogs to Erewash Sound care of the Media Centre - see the bottom of our website for the address - or e-mail mp3 files and info to steve.rawlings@erewashsound.com.

On Monday nights, Steve takes 1980s music to a new level with the Alternative 80s show.

Two hours of more than just memories also include the 'Then and Now' feature, where a track from a successful 1980s recording artist is followed by something more recent from the same artist, plus there are regular gig dates from 1980s artists touring regionally. 

Hear Steve next on:

Saturday, 25 November 2017 - 6:00pm - GEMS
Monday, 27 November 2017 - 7:00pm - Alternative 80s
Saturday, 2 December 2017 - 6:00pm - GEMS
Monday, 4 December 2017 - 7:00pm - Alternative 80s
Saturday, 9 December 2017 - 6:00pm - GEMS
Monday, 11 December 2017 - 7:00pm - Alternative 80s
Saturday, 16 December 2017 - 6:00pm - GEMS
Monday, 18 December 2017 - 7:00pm - Alternative 80s
Saturday, 23 December 2017 - 6:00pm - GEMS
Monday, 25 December 2017 - 7:00pm - Alternative 80s