Ilkeston Town FC: Factfile

Ilkeston Town is a football club based in Derbyshire that currently features in the Northern Premier League Division One South East.

Ilkeston Town have only been in operation for a few years with their club being founded in 2017.  On the 30th June 2017, Ilkeston Town FC Ltd was registered as a company at the Companies House before being brought a month later by Alan Hardy.  Ilkeston Town FC are the successors of Ilkeston FC who folded just a few months before their formation of Ilkeston Town.  Ilkeston Town are often referred to by their nickname the ‘Robins’ which refers to their club crest.

Ilkeston Town currently plays all their home games at New Manor Ground, which has a capacity of 3,029 and have done so since 2017.  The first team is currently managed by Mark Clifford.

Ilkeston Town found themselves being admitted into the Midland Football League during their debut season even though they had initially missed the entry date and gained a spot in Division One.  The club's first season could not have gone much better with them finishing the campaign in second place with a huge 95 points, while Walsall Wood ran away with the title finishing with 15 more points than Ilkeston Town.  Ilkeston Town’s second-place finish gained them promotion into the Midland Football League Premier Division.  The Robins' first season in their new league saw them take it by storm as they went on to secure the Midland Football League Premier Division title in 2018/19.

Ilkeston won the title in style by beating Loughborough University 8-1 on the final game of the season which saw them secure their second promotion after just two seasons as a club.

Ilkeston Town only gained promotion in 2018/19 thanks to their huge scoreline of 8-1, as this saw them move above Walsall Wood in the table due to a better goal difference.  Alan Hardy stepped down as the club owner on the 16th October 2019 and sold the club to Mark Clifford.

Ilkeston Town Honours

Midland Football League Division One

  • Runners-Up - 2017-2018

Midland Football League Premier Division

  • Winners - 2018-2019

For all your football news head over to Squawka