Erewash parliamentary constituency under consultation for change (deadline: 2nd August)

Published on: Friday, 18th June 2021
Erewash MP Maggie Throup
Mid-Derbyshire MP Pauline Latham

The Erewash parliamentary constituency could become a thing of the past under plans by the Boundary Commission.

The proposal is part of wider aims to increase the number of constituencies in the East Midlands from 46 to 47.

By law, every constituency proposed must contain between 69,724 and 77,062 Parliamentary electors (as at 2 March 2020)

As far as possible, the Boundary Comission try to have regard to local ties, geographic factors, local government boundaries (as they were known at 1 December 2020), existing constituencies, and minimising disruption caused by proposed change and use local government wards as the building blocks for proposed constituencies, but will consider splitting a ward where there is a strong case for doing so that such factors are better respected.

The Erewash borough is already split into two constituencies.  Maggie Throup covers the current Erewash constituency whilst Pauline Latham oversees the west and south west covering areas such as Breadsall, Little Eaton, Morley, Ockbrook and Borrowash.

However, under the plans, whilst the Mid-Derbyshire seat will remain as it currently stands, the Erewash constituency will be renamed as 'Ilkeston and Long Eaton' covering Shipley Common in the north, through Kirk Hallam, Ilkeston, Gallows Inn, New Stanton and Stanton-by-Dale and down as far west as Draycott Fields and Hopwell Park and across to the east through Risley, Breaston, New Sawley, Trent Lock and to the Long Eaton border with Nottingham.

Contributions to the consultation can be made via the Boundary Commission for England website by 2nd August.

Share this story:

Tell us YOUR news...

If there's something happening in your area that matters to you and feel that the rest of the borough needs to know about it, tell US about it.