Promotion leads to Robins lining up in the Southern League Division Central

Published on: Friday, 13th May 2022

The Football Association's National League System has been confirmed and Ilkeston Town officials now know where they will be playing next season.

Following their promotion as champions from the Northern Premier League Midlands, the Robins will play in the Southern League Division Central.

The teams to also find themselves at the same level include some famiiar names from the world of more-grass roots level of football including Basford United, Coalville Town, Rushall Olympic, Hednesford Town and, another former Northern Premier League side, Mickleover FC who move laterally from the Northern Premier League Premier Division.

After Ilkeston Town recently had a 3G pitch installed at the NMG, they will be one of eight sides in the league with an artificial surface with Basford United and Mickleover FC having also moved away from playing on a conventional grass surface.

Other teams to be faced by Ilkeston Town FC during 2022-23 are:

  • AFC Rushden & Diamonds
  • Alvechurch
  • Barwell
  • Bedford Town
  • Bromsgrove Sporting
  • Hitchin Town
  • Kings Langley (lateral move after a season in the Premier Division South)
  • Leiston
  • Needham Market
  • Nuneaton Borough
  • Redditch United
  • Royston Town
  • St Ives Town
  • Stoughbridge
  • Stratford Town
  • Tamworth

Share this story:

Tell us YOUR news...

If there's something happening in your area that matters to you and feel that the rest of the borough needs to know about it, tell US about it.